Springs for track car...

Porsche Technical related discussions.

Springs for track car...

Postby 4est on Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:14 pm

For a full-on track 993, how much usable stroke do I need for the front and rear. The springs I'm looking at have right at 4.0" full stroke and right at 3.0" of usable stroke. These are Swift springs in 728 for the front and 840 for the rear. I will use 45 lbs. helpers to keep the springs seated at full droop (mostly needed for the front). 993 C4S converted to rear wheel drive only, full monoballs all around, around 2600 lbs, Factory Bilstein 993 RSR shocks...
4est
Time Trialer

Postby kurquhart on Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:33 pm

728 lbs front, or is that a model number?
Kris Urquhart
1990 C2
2005 CS
kurquhart
Time Trialer

Postby 4est on Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:29 pm

Lbs.
4est
Time Trialer

Postby kurquhart on Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:48 pm

46/54 split seems like a recipe for push to me, but I am no expert on 993. FWIW, I have a 40/60 split on my 964.
Kris Urquhart
1990 C2
2005 CS
kurquhart
Time Trialer

Postby 4est on Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:08 pm

I'm not set on the spring rate. I will decide that at a later date, with input from those more knowledgeable (pretty much everybody). What I am looking for is input on stroke length, so I can get the right length spring.

The springs that just came off it are H&R 6" springs (400 and 571) with a 280'ish tender. The full length of both springs was 9.25", including the collar. The front, at full droop would dislocate by about .25" (not enough to cause problems), and the rear was pre-compressed down to about 8". The front, when weighted, compressed to right around 8" also. So, when it took the shocks off, the rears show an overall, unloaded length of about 8" (a little over an inch of precompression) and the front springs were loose by .25 or .125" (out of a 9.25" stack heighth). Again, when the car was sitting, the springs measured about 8" front and rear.