928 won't start, no spark

Porsche Technical related discussions.

928 won't start, no spark

Postby thofmann on Sun Sep 27, 2015 6:52 pm

Hopefully the experts on the forum can point me in the right direction, since I am out of ideas. Please read the entire post before suggesting to check fuses or connectors. I'm an electrical engineer with access to fairly advanced test equipment.
When trying to start my 928 (early 1986, 5-speed) there is no spark. All the inputs (temp sensor, TPS, supply voltage) to the EZF ignition unit as measured on the 25-pin connector check out ok. The crank sensor signal looks exactly as in the factory service manual, both in shape and absolute voltage. Yet, there is no output on pin 16 to the LH-jetronic control module or on pins 1 and 13 to the ignition trigger unit.
I have an arbitrary waveform generator (AWG) that can be used to simulate the crank sensor signal (1 big spike followed by 98 smaller ones). With the generator I could bench test the EZF unit and it worked right away. HOWEVER, it would not work below 300rpm. It is possible to jump-start the unit with some tricks to show that it is capable of running at speeds as low as 50rpm, but it wouldn't work under conditions similar to an engine start.
Over time I acquired 3 EZF units and they all behave in exactly the same way: works great at >300rpm, doesn't work below.
With a fully charged battery the starter gets the engine up to 190rpm. I checked the starter brushes and cleaned the solenoid magnetic switch contacts, but it didn't help. The battery is a bit old, but 190rpm feels more than fast enough for a normal engine to start.